Skip booklet index and go to page content

Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan: 2011–2012 Annual Report

PDF (1.48 MB)

Executive Summary

Established by the Government of Canada in 2005, the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan (FCSAP) is a 15-year, $4.2-billion program. Its primary objective is to reduce environmental and human-health risks and the related financial liabilities associated with federal contaminated sites.

In Phase I of FCSAP(2005–2011), the federal departments, agencies and consolidated Crown corporations that have roles as custodians of federal sites made significant progress in addressing contamination. FCSAP Phase II was approved in 2011–2012 to continue this work for five years, with a focus on the remediation of the highest-priority sites. A third phase is planned for 2016–2020. This report describes the progress made in 2011–2012, the first year of Phase II.

Nationally, federal departments involved in FCSAP reported total expenditures of $230 million in 2011–2012. This includes $15 million spent on assessments, $194 million spent on the remediation and risk-management of federal contaminated sites, and $21 million for program management activities. In this year, the program achieved several results:

  • Custodians conducted assessments at 849 sites to characterize environmental conditions; of the 141 sites that were fully assessed, 26% required remediation or risk-management, while 74% required no further action, as they pose no significant risk.
  • Custodians conducted remediation and risk-management activities at 408 sites; at 43 of these, they completed the remediation process, generating improvements in environmental quality and reduction of federal financial liability.
  • Approximately 1,085 jobs were created, with an estimated 5.2 direct jobs created for every million dollars spent on FCSAPprojects.

These results are reflected in the Federal Contaminated Sites Inventory (FCSI), which is maintained by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. At the end of 2011–2012, the FCSI listed approximately 22,200 sites. A comparison of FCSI data in 2010–2011 and 2011–2012 shows that the number of sites suspected of contamination decreased by 29% during this period. There was also a 7% decrease in the number of active sites and a 37% increase in the number of closed sites, where no further action was required. Approximately 83% of expenditures reported to the FCSI in 2011–2012 were attributed to FCSAP, as not all contaminated federal sites are part of the program.

Contamination of federal sites may translate into liability for the Government of Canada, when appropriate accounting criteria are met. The total liability for the remediation of contaminated sites increased by $419 million to $4.773B during 2011–2012. Adjusted liability, an estimate of the liability for sites eligible for FCSAPfunding, increased by $472 million to $3.416 billion during 2011–2012. Total liability for FCSAP-eligible sites will likely decline in future years, as custodians add fewer new sites to the federal inventory and remediate more existing sites.

For questions or comments on this report, contact:

FCSAPSecretariat
Compliance Promotion and Contaminated Sites Division
Environmental Protection Operations Directorate
Environment Canada
351 St. Joseph Boulevard, 17th Floor
Gatineau, QC K1A 0H3
Email: fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca

Abbreviations and Acronyms

AAFCAgriculture and Agri-Food Canada
AANDCAboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
ADMAssistant Deputy Minister
CCMECanadian Council of Ministers of the Environment
CSCCorrectional Service of Canada
DFOFisheries and Oceans Canada
DGDirector General
DNDDepartment of National Defence
ECEnvironment Canada
ESAEnvironmental site assessment
FCSAPFederal Contaminated Sites Action Plan
FCSIFederal Contaminated Sites Inventory
HCHealth Canada
HSCHighest step completed
JCCBIJacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges Incorporated
LEDLands and Economic Development
NAONorthern Affairs Organization
NCCNational Capital Commission
NCSCSNational Classification System for Contaminated Sites
NRCanNatural Resources Canada
NWANational Wildlife Area
PCAParks Canada Agency
PCBPolychlorinated biphenyl
PWGSCPublic Works and Government Services Canada
RCMPRoyal Canadian Mounted Police
R/RMRemediation / Risk-Management
TBSTreasury Board of Canada Secretariat
TCTransport Canada
VOCVolatile organic compound
Executive Summary

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Plan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux : Rapport annuel 2011–2012

Version PDF – 1.37 Mo

Résumé

Établi par le gouvernement du Canada en 2005, le Plan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux (PASCF) est un programme de 15 ans qui bénéficie d’un investissement de 4,2 milliards de dollars. Le principal objectif du programme est de réduire les risques pour l’environnement et la santé humaine que présentent les sites contaminés fédéraux connus, ainsi que les obligations financières fédérales connexes.

Durant la phase I du PASCF (2005–2011), les ministères et organismes fédéraux et les sociétés d’État consolidées qui ont des rôles de gardiens de sites fédéraux ont fait d’importants progrès dans la lutte contre la contamination. La phase II du PASCFa été approuvée en 2011–2012 afin de poursuivre ce travail pendant une période de cinq ans en axant les efforts sur l’assainissement des sites hautement prioritaires. Une troisième phase est prévue de 2016 à 2020. Le présent rapport décrit les progrès réalisés en 2011–2012, la première année de la phase II.

À l’échelle nationale, les ministères fédéraux participant au PASCF ont déclaré des dépenses totales de 230 millions de dollars en 2011–2012. Ces dépenses se répartissent de la manière suivante : 15 millions de dollars consacrés aux évaluations, 194 millions de dollars consacrés à l’assainissement et à la gestion des risques liés aux sites contaminés fédéraux et 21 millions de dollars pour les activités de gestion du programme. Cette année, le programme a obtenu plusieurs résultats :

  • Les gardiens ont entrepris d’évaluer 849 sites afin de caractériser les conditions environnementales. Parmi les 141 sites qui ont été entièrement évalués, 26 % nécessitaient des mesures d’assainissement ou de gestion des risques, tandis que 74 % ne nécessitaient aucune mesure supplémentaire, étant donné qu’ils ne présentaient pas de risque important.
  • Les gardiens ont entrepris des activités d’assainissement et de gestion des risques sur 408 sites. Sur 43 de ces sites, ils ont terminé le processus d’assainissement, ce qui a permis d’améliorer la qualité de l’environnement et de réduire le passif financier fédéral.
  • Environ 1 085 emplois ont été créés, avec une estimation de 5,2 emplois directs créés pour chaque million de dollars dépensés sur les projets du PASCF.

Ces résultats sont inclus dans l’Inventaire des sites contaminés fédéraux (l’ISCF), qui est géré par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada. A la fin de l’exercice 2011–2012, l’ISCF répertorié environ 22 200 sites. Une comparaison des données de l’ISCF en 2010–2011 et 2011–2012 montre que le nombre de sites que l’on soupçonne être contaminés a diminué de 29 % durant cette période. Il y avait aussi une diminution de 7 % du nombre de sites actifs et une augmentation de 37 % dans le nombre de sites fermés, qui ne nécessitaient aucune autre mesure. Environ 83 % des dépenses déclarées à l’Inventaire des sites contaminés fédéraux en 2011–2012 ont été attribués au PASCF, étant donné que tous les sites contaminés fédéraux ne font pas partie du programme.

La contamination des sites fédéraux peut entraîner un passif pour le gouvernement du Canada lorsque les critères comptables appropriés sont remplis. Le passif total pour l’assainissement des sites contaminés a augmenté de 419 millions de dollars à 4,773 milliards de dollars au cours de 2011–2012. Le passif ajusté, soit une estimation du passif des sites admissibles au financement du PASCF, a augmenté de 472 millions de dollars à 3,416 milliards de dollars en 2011–2012. Le total du passif pour les sites admissibles au PASCF diminuera probablement dans les années à venir, car les gardiens ajoutent moins de nouveaux sites à l’inventaire fédéral et assainissent plus de sites existants.

Pour toute question ou tout commentaire sur ce rapport, veuillez communiquer avec :

Le Secrétariat du PASCF
Division de la promotion de la conformité et des sites contaminés
Direction des activités de protection de l’Environnement
Environnement Canada
351, boulevard St-Joseph, 17e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Courriel : fcsap.pascf@ec.gc.ca

Abréviations et acronymes

AACAgriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada
AADNCAffaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
BPCBiphényle polychloré
CCMEConseil canadien des ministres de l’environnement
CCNCommission de la capitale nationale
CNRCConseil national de recherches Canada
COVComposés organiques volatils
DGDirecteur Général
ECEnvironnement Canada
GRCGendarmerie royale du Canada
ISCFInventaire des sites contaminés fédéraux
MDNMinistère de la Défense nationale
MPOPêches et Océans Canada
OANOrganisation des affaires du Nord
PASCFPlan d’action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux
PCParcs Canada
PJCCILes Ponts Jacques­Cartier et Champlain Incorporée
RNCanRessources naturelles Canada
SCSanté Canada
SCCService correctionnel du Canada
SCTSecrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
SMASous-ministre adjoint
SNCSCSystème national de classification des sites contaminés
TCTransports Canada
TDETerres et du développement économique
TPSGCTravaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada
Résumé